Diffusers, Bath Time, Kids and more

Lavender Essential Oil has become a staple in my house.

Even though I am relatively new to essential oils (got into them last year), once I started using them I discovered they have a lot of daily uses.

My favorite essential oil so far is lavender. It smells so beautiful and is very versatile. Of course it doesn’t hurt that I have unlimited access to Lavender Essential Oil by Butterfly Beauty Shop.  But to show you how serious I am about using this, here is how I use lavender oil.

Aromatherapy Diffuser

Aromatherapy Diffuser

Diffuser

Oh my, I am in love with my diffuser.  I got it last month and have been using it daily since.

I have 4 kids, but for some reason it has been real difficult getting my youngest (a 3 year old) to go to sleep at night. Regardless of when I put her down, she stays awake sneaking around and playing for hours. Since I placed the diffuser in her room last month, she has been going to sleep easily and (on most nights) is asleep within 30 minutes or less.

I also use my diffuser during the day.  I bring it into the kitchen and have it run throughout the day, sometime 6 or more hours. 100mL of water and 2-3 drops of lavender is all you need for 3 hours worth.  It makes the house smell wonderful and keeps everyone calm.  My 6 year old was smelling the diffuser the other day and said “I’m getting sleepy.”  It was maybe 2pm in the afternoon and I couldn’t help but chuckle at her.


Bath Time

I love using lavender oil at bath time for my kids. I use a liberal amount in each bath (probably 10 drops) and it fills the bathroom and adjoining rooms full of beautiful lavender. I find it very relaxing which makes their bath time enjoyable for me, and they calm down as well.
Burns

I probably burn my hand cooking at least twice a week, funny enough I always burn my hand on my crock pot. When I place a dab of undiluted lavender oil on my burn it heals within a couple days.  However last week, I forgot to put it on my burn and it took over a week to heal that time.

Legs

I don’t know about you but I usually get razor burn when I shave my legs. I decided to give lavender oil a try with this too.  I added a drop into a quarter-size amount of fractionated coconut oil and rubbed it on my legs. Aside from having silky smooth legs, my razor burn was gone within a few hours.  (This is now definitely part of my beauty routine.)

Stings/Cuts/Scrapes/Minor Wounds/Insect Bites

Being a mother with 4 kids, I encounter daily body-trauma. Whether it is a cut, a scrape, a poke from a cactus or an insect bite, lavender oil has become my go-to. Since it is antiseptic it helps clean the injury. Probably the thing I love about it best is that it isn’t greasy and doesn’t leave a residue (like an over the counter cream).

 

There you go.  I use lavender liberally throughout the day, not only to keep my sanity but also to keep my family calm, happy and healthy.

PS: It’s been about 4 months and I’m still using my original 1 ounce bottle. A little bit goes a long way!

Leave a Reply

